Activities in our area

Travel through the enchanting nature of the Erzgebirge at your own pace - that's pure happiness! Our hotel is ideally located for hikers and cyclists, as the old name "Kreuztanne" already betrays: we are in the middle of a crossing of various hiking and cycling routes in the middle of nature! 


Winter sports in the Erzgebirge 

Winter sports in the Erzgebirge 

There are numerous winter sports possibilities in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. When snow conditions are good, we recommend a snowshoe hike directly from the hotel - right across the field with a beautiful view of the snowy ridge of the Erzgebirge!

In the ski areas of Holzhau, Bad Einsiedel and Hermsdorf you will find top level cross-country ski trails. You can reach these areas by car in about 15 minutes.

View the options

Hiking trails in the area

Hiking trails in the area

The Waldhotel Kreuztanne is located at a crossroads of the old post roads and their historical access roads to the surrounding villages. Starting point and destination for all walks is the Waldhotel Kreuztanne, located 700 m above sea level. You can combine 4 circular walks in a star shape. The path along the old post road from Sayda leads you along the König Friedrich August Höhe (736 m - also called Friedebacher Höhe) and is marked on every hiking map as a viewpoint.

View the routes

Kammweg - Hiking in the Nature Park - From Saxony to Thüringen

Directly located on the Kammweg; Erzgebirge - Voftland

We are located directly on the Kammweg on stage 2 coming from Holzhau towards Seiffen. Stop in the Waldhotel Kreuztanne and give those tired legs a rest. After a cold beer, a good meal, relaxation in the sauna and a wonderfully restful night, you will be reborn the next day and fit for the further kilometers on foot.

View the routes

BLOCKLINE - the mountain bike adventure of the Erzgebirge

BLOCKLINE - the mountain bike adventure of the Erzgebirge

On a total of 140 kilometers, the great feeling of endless freedom awaits the bikers: Three exciting rounds lure adventurers from young to old on an expedition in the beautiful, untouched nature of the Eastern Erzgebirge. Breathtaking wooden signs show the way of the BLOCKLINE. In short stages, the tour leads through constantly changing landscapes - impressive panoramas, narrow valleys, deep forests and lots of water make it a real highlight.

View the routes

BIKEMAN Mountainbike Routes Erzgebirge

BIKEMAN Mountainbike Routes Erzgebirge

Mountain bike adventure in the Erzgebirge - a project of PULSSCHLAG Bike+Sport Olbernhau

The BIKEMAN is back! What started in 2000 as an extreme mountain bike tour from Klingenthal to Altenberg over 180 km in one day, now finds its continuation in the new BIKEMAN Trail Erzgebirge. A large loop of approx. 155 km with the most beautiful trails in the middle of the Erzgebirge. The route offers fantastic views, enchanting nature, dreamy places and a varied course. 

View the routes

Exploring the Erzgebirge by bike - Olbernhau and region 

Exploring the Erzgebirge by bike - Olbernhau and region 

The town of Olbernhau offers numerous suggestions for bicycle tours. The annual Olbernhau Cycle Tour has offered very scenic tours for more than 20 years. Some of these tours are signposted, so it is possible to cycle without a map. Just follow the small signs on the green, red and yellow tours.  

View the routes

A visit to Blockhausen/Dorfchemnitz

A visit to Blockhausen/Dorfchemnitz

The forest experience center with its founder Andreas Martin, also called the 'sauensäger', is always worth a visit! The center hosts the annual Huskycup, an international competition for chainsaws. The resulting figures and themed worlds, the longest table in the world, a large adventure playground and much more can be discovered in Blockhausen. More info Blockhausen.de

Visiting Neuhausen

Visiting Neuhausen

Europe's first nutcracker museum with the largest nutcracker collection in the world, the largest and smallest nutcracker and the largest music box in the shape of a theater and much more.

A very different kind of experience is a visit to the "Erzgebirgisches Glashüttenmuseum". It is located in the historic Fronfeste, not far from Purschenstein Castle. It houses unique evidence of the art of glassmaking that once existed in the Erzgebirge, dating back to the time of settlements around 1200 and justifying the term "glass country" for this region as early as the Middle Ages.

If you want a particularly beautiful panorama, stop at the Schwartenberg (789 m). Not only is the fantastic view worthwhile, but the landlord of the Schwartenbergbaude always has a joke for his guests!

Visiting Seiffen

Visiting Seiffen

The small toy village of Seiffen is known far beyond its borders. You can see and experience the production of wood art from the Erzgebirge here. Look over the shoulders of the craftsmen as they chop chips and turn hoops... or try it out for yourself. Find your own Christmas decorations for the upcoming holidays, for example at the traditional house Wendt & Kühn or at Näumanns Holzkunst & Design.

In the toy village Seiffen you will also find a summer toboggan run, the famous church of lights, a toy museum or the model railroad exhibition.

Visiting Deutschneudorf

Visiting Deutschneudorf

Abenteuerbergwerk Fortunastollen - go on a treasure hunt and find the legendary Amber Room. Listen to the miner's story or join in and tap your own stone with hammer and mallet.

Visiting Olbernhau

Visiting Olbernhau

The 750-year-old town of Olbernhau is located in the middle of the Erzgebirge and forms the border between the eastern and western Erzgebirge.
The "Saigerhütte Olbernhau - Grünthal" is a unique contemporary testimony to non-ferrous metallurgy in the world dating back to 1537.

Old Town of Freiberg

Old Town of Freiberg

With Freudenstein Castle including the important mineral exhibition "terra mineralia". Also worth seeing is Freiberg Cathedral with a large number of objects of art historical value, including the tulip pulpit (1505), the miner's pulpit (1638), various epitaphs and two Silbermann organs (1711/1714).

Discover the surroundings of Altenberg

Discover the surroundings of Altenberg

The leisure facilities in the Holiday Region Altenberg are particularly versatile, whether you are young or old, small or large - here you are guaranteed to find what you are looking for! 

Check out our tips

Visiting Dresden

Visiting Dresden

Dresden is internationally known as a cultural city with numerous important buildings, such as the Baroque Zwinger, excellent museums, such as the Gallery of Old Masters, and famous orchestras, such as the Saxon State Orchestra or the Kreuzchor. Much of Dresden's Old Town has been reconstructed and shaped by different architectural eras, in addition to the Zwinger, for example, with the Frauenkirche on Neumarkt, the Semper Opera House and the Hofkirche, as well as the Residenz Palace. The Striezelmarkt, founded in 1434, is one of the oldest and best-known Christmas markets in Germany. Dresden is also called Florence on the Elbe, originally mainly because of its art collections; its Baroque and Mediterranean-influenced architecture and its picturesque and climatically favorable location in the Elbe Valley have contributed significantly to this.

Discover the Sächsische Schweiz

Discover the Sächsische Schweiz

Sächsische Schweiz is the perfect destination for hiking in Saxony. Varied hiking trails with steps, ladders and short climbs lead through the fascinating rock formations of the Elbe Sandstone Mountains. In between, magnificent views await you each time. We are totally excited about hiking in Sächsische Schweiz.

Visit saechsische-schweiz.de for more information about the region. On this website you will find a number of beautiful walks in the area.

Visiting Prague

Visiting Prague

Just strolling through the historic center of the city is an experience: the many small, winding streets, churches and imposing Gothic and Baroque buildings give the city a charm all of its own. When the sun shines, the "Golden City" certainly shows its best side - according to legend, Prague got this name because of the sandstone towers that glisten gold in the sunlight.

One of the city's most famous attractions is Prague Castle, an imposing complex of churches and fortifications. As you explore the area around the castle, be sure to take a stroll through the beautiful gardens that surround it.

Visiting Karlsbad

Visiting Karlsbad

Karlsbad, Czech: Karlovy Vary, is a spa town in the western part of the Czech Republic with about 48,500 inhabitants. The town is located at the confluence of the rivers Teplá (Tepl) and Ohře. Karlovy Vary is one of the most famous and traditional spas in the world.

Since July 24, 2021, the town has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site of the most important spa towns in Europe.

Motorcycling in the area

Motorcycling in the area

For years we have been awarded as "Motorcycle-friendly hotel in Saxony" by ADAC in Saxony and the DEHOGA Saxony e.V.

Our hotel has:

- Sufficient parking space for motorcycles 
- Drying facilities for rain-soaked items
- Washing and maintenance facilities
- A base of the most important tools. 
- Extensive information material (suggestions for tours, tips for trips, road maps, useful addresses for motorcyclists, etc.).

View some routes

Organized trips around the Erzgebirge

Organized trips around the Erzgebirge

Good choice! We are central located to Sächsischen Schweiz, Prague, Karlovy Vary & Dresden.

Regional partners offer guided day trips and on-board service in a fully air-conditioned minibus directly from the hotel upon request and availability. You can find dates and times at our reception.

View all day trips

Die Montane Kulturlandschaft Erzgebirge/Krusnohori  ist Welterbe Region!

Our region is a UNESCO world heritage site

The Erzgebirge are dotted with unique mountain ranges and wildly romantic river valleys, as well as picturesque villages that have their origins in the region's 800-year mining history.

The region is best known for its tradition, resourcefulness and cordiality. The way of life of the people of the Erzgebirge is unique. Numerous old customs are still lived in a very authentic way and passed on from generation to generation. For example, mountain parades and Mettenschichten are still a regular part of the winter and Christmas seasons in the Erzgebirge

Learn more about our World Heritage Region!

Aktive Erholung in der Natur

Bewegung im eigenen Rhythmus durch die reizvolle Natur des Erzgebirges – das ist pures Glück! Unser Haus ist für Wanderer und Radfahrer bestens gelegen, wie der uralte Name „Kreuztanne“ verrät: oben auf dem Kammweg, ganz nah am Wald, am dunklen Tann, dort wo sich die Wege der Alten Salzstraße und des Alten Böhmischen Steiges kreuzen.


Wanderrouten in der Umgebung

Wanderrouten in der Umgebung

Das Waldhotel Kreuztanne liegt an einer Kreuzung der alten Poststrassen und ihren historischen Zufahrtstrassen zu den umliegenden Dörfern. Ausgangspunkt und Ziel für alle Wanderungen ist das, auf 700 m gelegene, Waldhotel Kreuztanne. Sternenförmig können Sie 4 Rundwanderungen miteinander verbinden. Der Weg auf der Alten Poststraße von Sayda führt Sie an der König Friedrich August Höhe (736 m - auch Friedebacher Höhe genannt) vorbei und ist als Aussichtspunkt auf jeder Wanderkarte gekennzeichnet.

Alle Routen anzeigen

Kammweg – Wandern im Naturpark - Von Sachsen nach Thüringen

Wir, direkt am Kammweg Erzgebirge - Vogtland

Wir liegen direkt am Kammweg auf der Etappe 2 von Holzhau kommend Richtung Seiffen. Machen Sie Zwischenstopp im Waldhotel Kreuztanne und gönnen Sie den müden Beinen eine Erholung. Nach einem kühlen Bier, einem guten Essen, Entspannung in der Sauna und einer herrlich ruhigen Nacht sind Sie am nächsten Tag wie neu geboren und fit für die weiteren Kilometer zu Fuß.

Alle Routen anzeigen

BLOCKLINE - Das Mountainbike Abenteuer im Erzgebirge

BLOCKLINE - Das Bike Abenteuer im Erzgebirge

Auf insgesamt 140 Kilometern erwartet Biker das große Gefühl von unendlicher Freiheit: Drei spannende Runden locken kleine und große Abenteurer auf eine Expedition in die wunderschöne, unberührte Natur des Osterzgebirges. Atemberaubende Holzportale weisen den Weg der BLOCKLINE. In kurzen Etappen führt die Tour durch immer neue Landschaft − beeindruckende Panoramen, enge Täler, tiefe Wälder und viel Wasser machen sie zu einem echten Highlight.

Alle Routen anzeigen

BIKEMAN Mountainbike Trail Erzgebirge

BIKEMAN Mountainbike Trail Erzgebirge by

Das Mountainbike Abenteuer im Erzgebirge - ein Projekt von PULSSCHLAG Bike+Sport Olbernhau

Der BIKEMAN ist zurück! Was im Jahr 2000 als Extrem Mountainbike Tour begann und von Klingenthal nach Altenberg über 180 km an einem Tag führte, findet jetzt seine Fortsetzung im neuen BIKEMAN Trail Erzgebirge. Eine große Runde über ca.155 km mit den schönsten Trails mitten im Erzgebirge. Die Strecke bietet traumhafte Aussichten, verzauberte Natur, verträumte Orte und eine abwechslungsreiche Streckenführung. 

Alle Routen anzeigen

Mit dem Rad das Erzgebirge erkunden - Olbernhau und Umgebung

Mit dem Rad das Erzgebirge erkunden - Olbernhau und Umgebung

Die Stadt Olbernhau bietet zahlreiche Vorschläge für Radwanderungen. Die jährliche Olbernhauer Radtour sorgt seit über 20 Jahren für landschaftlich sehr reizvolle Touren. Einige dieser Touren sind beschildert und ermöglichen so das Radwandern ohne Karte. Folgen Sie einfach dem Reiterlein auf den grünen, roten und gelben Touren.  

Alle Routen anzeigen

Wintersport im Erzgebirge

Wintersport im Erzgebirge

In unmittelbarer Nähe des Hotels gibt es zahlreiche Wintersportmöglichkeiten. Bei guten Schneebedingungen empfiehlt sich eine Schneeschuhtour dirkt vom Hotel - quer feldein mit herrlichem Blick auf den verschneiten Erzgebirgskamm!

In den Skigebieten Holzhau, Bad Einsiedel und Hermsdorf befinden sich topgespurte Langlaufloipen. Die Gebiete erreichen Sie mit dem PKW in ca. 15 Minuten.

Mehr Infos

Besuchen Sie Blockhausen/Dorfchemnitz

Besuchen Sie Blockhausen/Dorfchemnitz

Das Walderlebniszentrum mit seinem Gründer Andreas Martin, auch der Sauensäger genannt, ist immer einen Besuch wert! Das Zentrum ist Austragungsort des jährlichen Huskycup, ein internationaler Kettensägen-Wettbewerb. Die daraus entstanden Figuren und Themenwelten, der längste Tisch der Welt, ein toller Erlebnisspielplatz und vieles mehr gibt es in Blockhausen zu entdecken. Mehr Infos Blockhausen.de

Ausflug nach Neuhausen

Ausflug nach Neuhausen

Erstes Nussknackermuseum Europas mit der größten Nussknackersammlung der Welt, dem größten und kleinsten Nussknacker und die größte Spieldose in Form eines Theaters und vieles mehr.

Ein Erlebnis der ganz anderen Art ist ein Besuch im "Erzgebirgischen Glashüttenmuseum"Es befindet sich in der historischen Fronfeste unweit vom Schloß Purschenstein. Es beherbergt Zeugnisse einmaliger Art von der einstigen Glasmacherkunst im Erzgebirge, die bis in die Besiedlungszeit um 1200 zurückreicht und bereits für das Mittelalter den Begriff "Glasland" für diese Region rechtfertigt.

Wer einen besonders guten Rundblick haben möchte, hält Einkehr auf dem Schwartenberg (789 m). Nicht nur die fantastische Aussicht lohnt sich, auch der Wirt der Schwartenbergbaude hat immer ein Späßchen für seine Gäste parat.  

Ausflug nach Seiffen

Ausflug nach Seiffen

Weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus kennt man das kleine Spielzeugdorf Seiffen. Die Herstellung der erzgebirgischen Holzkunst kann man hier sehen und erleben. Schauen Sie den Handwerkern über die Schultern beim Spanbaum stechen und Reifen drehen...oder probieren Sie es selbst aus. Suchen Sie sich Ihren ganz individuellen Weihnachtsschmuck für das nächste Fest, zum Beispiel im Traditionshaus Wendt & Kühn oder bei Näumanns Holzkunst & Design

Im Spielzeugdorf Seiffen finden Sie auch eine Sommerrodelbahn, die berühmte Lichterkirche, ein Spielzeugmuseum oder die Modelleisenbahnausstellung. 

Ausflug nach Deutschneudorf

Ausflug nach Deutschneudorf

Abenteuerbergwerk Fortunastollen - gehen Sie auf Schatzsuche und finden Sie das legendäre Bernsteinzimmer. Lauschen Sie der Steigergeschichte oder fahren Sie Schicht und klopfen Sie mit Schlegel und Hammer Ihren eigenen Stein.

Ausflug nach Olbernhau

Ausflug nach Olbernhau

Mitten im Erzgebirge liegt die 750-jährige Stadt Olbernhau und bildet die Grenze zwischen Ost- und Westerzgebirge.
Ein einzigartiges Zeitzeugnis des Hüttenwesens der Buntmetallurgie in der Welt aus dem Jahre 1537 ist die "Saigerhütte Olbernhau - Grünthal".

Historische Altstadt von Freiberg

Historische Altstadt von Freiberg

Mit dem Schloss Freudenstein inkl. der bedeutenden Mineralienschau "terra mineralia". Ebenfalls sehenswert ist der Freiberger Dom mit einer Vielzahl von kunsthistorisch wertvollen Objekten, darunter die Tulpenkanzel (1505), die Bergmannskanzel (1638), verschiedene Epitaphe sowie zwei Silbermann-Orgeln (1711/1714)

Entdecken Sie die Umgebung von Altenberg

Entdecken Sie die Umgebung von Altenberg

Die Freizeitmöglichkeiten in der Urlaubsregion Altenberg sind besonders vielfältig, ob jung oder alt, ob klein oder groß - hier werden Sie garantiert fündig! 

Mehr Infos

Besuchen Sie Dresden

Besuchen Sie Dresden

International bekannt ist Dresden als Kulturstadt mit zahlreichen bedeutenden Bauwerken, wie dem barocken Zwinger, herausragenden Museen, wie der Gemäldegalerie Alter Meister, und berühmten Klangkörpern, wie der Sächsischen Staatskapelle oder dem Kreuzchor. Die Dresdner Altstadt wurde in großen Teilen rekonstruiert und durch verschiedene architektonische Epochen geprägt, neben dem Zwinger beispielsweise mit der Frauenkirche am Neumarkt, der Semperoper und der Hofkirche sowie dem Residenzschloss. Der 1434 begründete Striezelmarkt ist einer der ältesten und bekanntesten Weihnachtsmärkte Deutschlands. Dresden wird auch Elbflorenz genannt, ursprünglich vor allem wegen seiner Kunstsammlungen; maßgeblich trug dazu sowohl seine barocke und mediterran geprägte Architektur als auch seine malerische und klimatisch begünstigte Lage im Elbtal bei

Entdecken Sie die Sächsische Schweiz

Entdecken Sie die Sächsische Schweiz

Die Sächsische Schweiz ist das perfekte Ziel zum Wandern in Sachsen. Durch die faszinierenden Felsformationen des Elbsandsteingebirges führen abwechslungsreiche Wanderwege mit Treppen, Leitern und kurzen Kletterpassagen. Zwischendurch erwartet dich immer wieder eine grandiose Aussicht. Wir jedenfalls sind restlos begeistert vom Wandern in der Sächsischen Schweiz. 

Besuchen Sie saechsische-schweiz.de für weitere Informationen über die Region. Auf dieser Website finden Sie einige tolle Wanderungen in der Umgebung. 

Besuchen Sie Prag

Besuchen Sie Prag

Allein schon der Bummel durch den historischen Kern der Stadt ist ein Erlebnis: Die vielen kleinen, winkligen Gassen, Kirchen und imposanten Gotik- und Barock-Gebäude verleihen der Stadt ihren ganz eigenen Charme. Bei Sonnenschein zeigt sich die "Goldene Stadt" sicherlich von ihrer schönsten Seite – diesen Namen erhielt Prag der Legende nach der Sandsteintürme wegen, die bei Sonneneinstrahlung golden schimmern.

Zu den berühmtesten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt gehört die Prager Burg, ein imposanter Komplex aus Kirchen und Befestigungen. Bei der Erforschung des Burggebietes sollten Sie es sich nicht entgehen lassen, einen Spaziergang durch die wunderschönen Gärten zu machen, die das Gebiet umgeben.

Besuchen Sie Karlsbad

Besuchen Sie Karlsbad

Karlsbad, tschechisch Karlovy Vary, ist ein Kurort im Westen Tschechiens mit rund 48.500 Einwohnern. Die Stadt liegt an der Mündung der Teplá (Tepl) in die Eger (Ohře). Karlsbad gehört zu den berühmtesten und traditionsreichsten Kurorten der Welt.

Seit 24. Juli 2021 zählt der Ort zum UNESCO-Welterbe der bedeutenden Kurstädte Europas.

Motorradtouren in der Umgebung

Motorradtouren in der Umgebung

Seit Jahren sind wir mit dem Gütesiegel
„Motorradfreundlicher Hotelbetrieb in Sachsen“
vom ADAC in Sachsen und dem DEHOGA Sachsen e.V. ausgezeichnet.

Unser Hotel verfügt über:

- ausreichend Stellplätze für die Motorräder (teils Garage)
- Trockenmöglichkeiten für regennasse Monturen
- Wasch- und Wartungsmöglichkeiten
- eine Zusammenstellung der wichtigsten Werkzeuge
- umfangreiches Informationsmaterial (Tourenvorschläge, Ausflugstipps, Straßenkarten, nützliche Adressen für Motorradfahrer etc.)

Mehr infos

Organisierte Tagesfahrten zu Sehenswertem im und um´s Erzgebirge

Organisierte Tagesfahrten zu Sehenswertem im und um´s Erzgebirge

Bequem und komfortabel in die Sächsische Schweiz, Prag, Karlsbad & Dresden

Regionale Partner bieten Tagesfahrten mit Reisebegleitung und Bordservice in einem vollklimatisierten Kleinbus, direkt vom Hotel auf Anfrage und Verfügbarkeit. Die Termine und Zeiten erfahren Sie an unserer Rezeption.

Mehr Infos

Die Montane Kulturlandschaft Erzgebirge/Krusnohori  ist Welterbe Region!

Wir sind Welterbe Region

Die Montane Kulturlandschaft Erzgebirge/Krusnohori

Im Erzgebirge erstrecken sich, neben landschaftlich einmaligen Höhenzügen und wildromantischen Flusstälern, malerische Ortschaften, die ihren Ursprung in der 800-jährigen Bergbaugeschichte der Region haben.

Besonders für Tradition, Einfallsreichtum und Herzlichkeit ist die Region bekannt. Einzigartig ist die Lebensart der Erzgebirger. Unzählige alte Bräuche werden noch sehr authentisch gelebt und von einer Generation zur anderen weitergegeben. So sind zum Beispiel Bergparaden und Mettenschichten noch heute fester Bestandteil der Winter- und Weihnachtszeit im Erzgebirge.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Welterbe Region!